Chairman: Prof. Elmar Qasimov
Deputy Chairman: Yazgul Abdiyeva, PhD
Executive Assistant: Aghayeva Fidan, PhD

Board Members:
Karimov Karam, prof., MD
Namazova Hijran, MD
Galbinur Pasha, prof., MD
Jarulla-zade Chingiz, prof., MD
Aghayeva Rana, MD
Haciyev Rasim, prof., MD
Rustamova Nazila, MD
Karimov Mushfiq, MD
Nazarli Jeyhun, PhD


Azerbaijan Society of Ophthalmology

The Azerbaijan Society of Ophthalmology was founded on 10th December 1920. We have a National Eye Center that has a fully equipped clinic where we perform a lot of different surgeries every year. We have Retina, Glaucoma, Eye trauma, Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus, Refractive surgery and Policlinic departments. Also we have a clinic on wheels where we conduct check-ups & perform surgeries in different regions of our country by rotation on a monthly basis. Our doctors attend different conferences yearly.

Azerbaijan Society of Ophthalmologists website:

Past meetings – 2019
1. “New aspects of diagnostics and treatment of glaucoma” seminar as part of World Glaucoma Day. Azerbaijan, Baku 14.03.2019

2. Conference “Actual problems of ophthalmology” dedicated to the memory of the academician Zarifa Aliyeva. Azerbaijan, Baku, 29.04.2019

3. Conference of the Azerbaijan retina specialists “Application of modern technologies in the vitreoretinal pathology treatment”. Azerbaijan, Baku, 31.05.2019

4. Regional conference “Development, Problems and Achievements of Ophthalmology in the Republic”. Azerbaijan, Shaki, 25.10.2019

5. Conference of Young Ophthalmologists “Recent achievements and problems of modern ophthalmology”. Azerbaijan, Shaki, 26.10.2019

Past meetings – 2020
1. V Conference of the Azerbaijan retina specialists. Azerbaijan, Lankaran, 15.02.2020

2. “New aspects of diagnostics and treatment of glaucoma” seminar as part of World Glaucoma Day.
Azerbaijan, Baku, 13.03.2020 (Webinar)

3. Conference “Actual problems of ophthalmology” dedicated to the memory of the academician Zarifa Aliyeva. Azerbaijan, Baku, 28.04.2020 (Webinar)

Up-coming meetings – 2020
1. Webinar meetings of Azerbaijan Society of Ophthalmologists are held on monthly each last Friday.

2. Joint Conference of Young Ophthalmologists and International Ophthalmology Symposium TROS (Turkish Republics Ophthalmology Society) and ASO (Azerbaijan Society of Ophthalmologists) is postponed to the next year due to Global COVID-19 Pandemic.

We have an annual meeting of ophthalmologists on the last Friday of April, an annual meeting of young ophthalmologists on the last Friday of November & Retina sub-specialty meetings yearly.

WSPOS Chapters

President/Head: Dr. David Kasongole

President/Head: Dr. Fitsum Bekele

President/Head: Akim Mashoko

President/Head: Dr. Ssali Grace

President/Head: Dr. Pradeepa K. Siriwardena; DO, MS, FRCS

President/Head: Dr Igor Aznauryan, MD, Dr. Sc., Prof

President/Head: Dr. Said Hussein Gedi, MD, Consultant Eye Surgeon

Polish Ophthalmological Society ChapterPolish Ophthalmological Society

President/Head: Prof. Iwona Grabska-Liberek

President/Head: Prof. Adedayo Omobolanle Adio

President/Head: Dr Suman Thapa, MD, PhD

President/Head: Chimgee Chuluunkhuu

President/Head: Dr. Gerald Msukwa

President/Head: Karima lamin Shalabi, MD

President/Head: Prim. Neda Striber, MD

President/Head: Prof. A.H.M. Enayet Hussain

Algerian Ophthalmology Society ChapterAlgerian Ophthalmology Society

President/Head: Professor Ourida Ouhadj

President/Head: Dr. Dastagir Amiri MD, PGD, Ophthalmologist

WSPOS Member Societies

Israeli Orthoptic SocietyIsraeli Orthoptic Society

President/Head: Guy Barnett-Itzhaki

International Society for Genetic Eye Disease and Retinoblastoma (ISGEDR) SocietyInternational Society for Genetic Eye Disease and Retinoblastoma (ISGEDR)

President/Head: Birgit Lorenz

International Orthoptic Association SocietyInternational Orthoptic Association

President/Head: Jan Roelof Polling

President/Head: Osman Sevki



President/Head: Prof. Adriano Magli

President/Head: Jose Fernando Perez


President/Head: Professor Audrey Chia

President/Head: Dr. Norman Fajardo

President/Head: Dr Kenneth Choong-Sian Fong

President/Head: Dr Gerald W Zaidman

President/Head: Nataliya Pasyechnikova

President/Head: Prof Khin Ommar Khine

President/Head: Dr. Ahmed Abdullah Ahmed

President/Head: Dr. Essam Batayneh

President/Head: Sara Flodin

President/Head: Dr José Luis Güell

Britain and Ireland SocietyBritish and Irish Orthoptic Society (BIOS)


President/Head: Ons lahouimel

President/Head: Zia Mohammad

President/Head: Dr. Eduardo Chavez Mondragon

President/Head: Dr. Dipl.-Kfm. Philip Gass



President/Head: Dr Shuan Dai

President/Head: Alvit Wolf

President/Head: Hamzah Almajedi

President/Head: Prof. Natasa Vidovic Valentincic




President/Head: Dr.Shantha Balekudaru DNB

President/Head: Prof. Vinita Singh

President/Head: Dominique Bremond-Gignac

President/Head: G. Darius Hildebrand FRCS FRCOphth FEBO

President/Head: Lisbeth Sandfeld



President/Head: Levi Kandeke

President/Head: Dr Fabio Ejzenbaum

President/Head: Prof. Dr. Michael Schittkowski / Prof. Dr. Ina Sterker

President/Head: Adriana Solano

President/Head: Verônica Cardoso Alves

President/Head: Christopher Tinley; SOUTH AFRICA

Privacy Policy
Loading please wait