Dr. Ibrahim Matende

Executive Committee members:
Secretary General: Dr. Grace Ssali
Treasurer: Dr. Emeritus Chibuga


College of Ophthalmology of the Eastern, Central and Southern African (ECSA) Region

Human resource for eye health (HReH) is a key challenge in the ECSA region and remains one of the principal Colleges of Ophthalmology of Eastern, Central, and Southern Africa (COECSA) mandates. The College opted to strategically address and promote specialty areas through specialty groupings referred to as Communities of practice.

Paediatric Ophthalmology and strabismus community is a key community in COECSA that brings together the team in the region. This professional association in the community facilitates connections among peers, provide access to knowledge exchange and encouraging skill development, fostering trust and a sense of common purpose, adding value to the professional lives of members, develop quality training and set standards for professional practice in Paediatric ophthalmology.

The members of the community have been instrumental in various key interventions in child eye health and fight against childhood blindness. One in such effort is the ‘Seeing is Believing’ (SiB) child eye health Programme in east Africa where many children have received key invaluable vision restoring services through various eye hospitals.

The community is pioneering a pediatric cataract oriented ophthalmic surgeons program to help address the backlog in childhood cataracts. Presently plans are underway to start a pediatric fellowship and strabismus training program in the region for COECSA. There are limited places for such training in the region necessitating travel abroad where practice licenses, cultural change, sociopolitical limitations and limited hands on training are common.

WSPOS Member Chapters

President/Head: Dr. Dastagir Amiri MD, PGD, Ophthalmologist

Algerian Ophthalmology Society ChapterAlgerian Ophthalmology Society

President/Head: Professor Ourida Ouhadj

President/Head: Prof. Elmar Qasimov

President/Head: Prof. A.H.M. Enayet Hussain

President/Head: Prim. Neda Striber, MD

President/Head: Dr. Fitsum Bekele

President/Head: Karima lamin Shalabi, MD

President/Head: Dr. Gerald Msukwa

President/Head: Dr Suman Thapa, MD, PhD

President/Head: Dr. Dupe Ademola-Popoola

Polish Ophthalmological Society ChapterPolish Ophthalmological Society

President/Head: Prof. Iwona Grabska-Liberek

President/Head: Dr Igor Aznauryan, MD, Dr. Sc., Prof

President/Head: Prof. Natasa Vidovic Valentincic

President/Head: Dr. Said Hussein Gedi, MD, Consultant Eye Surgeon

President/Head: Christopher Tinley; SOUTH AFRICA

President/Head: Dr. Pradeepa K. Siriwardena; DO, MS, FRCS

President/Head: Dr. Ssali Grace

President/Head: Dr. Misa Funjika-Mulamba

President/Head: Akim Mashoko

WSPOS Member Societies



President/Head: Dr Craig Donaldson


President/Head: Hilde Janssens


Britain and Ireland SocietyBritish and Irish Orthoptic Society (BIOS)


President/Head: Levi Kandeke


President/Head: Adriana Solano

President/Head: Marcia Beatriz Tartarella



President/Head: G. Darius Hildebrand FRCS FRCOphth FEBO

President/Head: Dominique Bremond-Gignac

President/Head: Prof. Dr. Michael Schittkowski / Prof. Dr. Ina Sterker

President/Head: Dr. Dipl.-Kfm. Philip Gass

President/Head: Prof. Pradeep Sharma


International Orthoptic Association SocietyInternational Orthoptic Association

President/Head: Jan Roelof Polling

International Society for Genetic Eye Disease and Retinoblastoma (ISGEDR) SocietyInternational Society for Genetic Eye Disease and Retinoblastoma (ISGEDR)

President/Head: Birgit Lorenz

President/Head: Hamzah Almajedi

President/Head: Alvit Wolf

Israeli Orthoptic SocietyIsraeli Orthoptic Society

President/Head: Guy Barnett-Itzhaki

President/Head: Prof. Adriano Magli

President/Head: Dr. Essam Batayneh

President/Head: Dr Kenneth Choong-Sian Fong

President/Head: Dr. Eduardo Chavez Mondragon

President/Head: Dr. Ahmed Abdullah Ahmed

President/Head: Prof Khin Ommar Khine

President/Head: Prof PS Maher

President/Head: Dr. Norman Fajardo


President/Head: Professor Audrey Chia

President/Head: Dr José Luis Güell



President/Head: Ons lahouimel

President/Head: Osman Sevki

President/Head: Nataliya Pasyechnikova

President/Head: Dr Gerald W Zaidman